Shed Approvals - New South Wales

New South Wales

On the 27 February 2009 State Environmental Planning Policy (Exempt and Complying Development Codes) 2008 (the Codes SEPP), which has state-wide application commenced. This new Codes SEPP contains exempt development types and complying development types for certain types of development.

Garden sheds that comply with certain guidelines are considered exempt developments. These guidelines are as follows.

To be exempt development the development must not be carried out on land that is an environmentally sensitive area.
You don’t need permission from council to build or install cabanas, cubby houses, ferneries, garden sheds, gazebos and greenhouses if:

  • There are no more than 2 per lot.
  • If it is on land in rural zones RU1, RU2, RU3, RU4 and R5 – be no larger than 50sqm.
  • If it is on land in all other zones - no larger than 20sqm.
  • It is no higher than 3m above the ground level.
  • If it is on land in rural zones RU1, RU2, RU3 and RU4  - be located behind the building line of any road frontage.
  • It is set back a minimum of 900mm from each boundary.
  • It is located in the back yard if your property is in a heritage conservation area or a draft heritage conservation area.
  • If it is located adjacent to another building—be located so that it does not interfere with the entry to, or exit from, or the fire safety measures within, that building.
  • It cannot be a shipping container.
  • The disposal of any roof water must not cause a nuisance to adjoining owners.
  • In residential zones, any metal parts of the structure are to be low reflective, factory pre coloured materials.
  • If your property is bushfire prone land and the structure is going to be located less than 5m from your house or a neighbours house the structure must be constructed of non combustible materials.

Want to Contact Your Council?

CouncilWebsite
Albury City Councilhttp://www.alburycity.nsw.gov.au/
Armidale Dumaresq Councilhttp://www.armidale.nsw.gov.au/
Ashfield Councilhttp://www.ashfield.nsw.gov.au/
Auburn City Councilhttp://www.auburn.nsw.gov.au/
Ballina Shire Councilhttp://www.ballina.nsw.gov.au/
Balranald Shire Councilhttp://www.balranald.nsw.gov.au/
Bankstown City Councilhttp://www.bankstown.nsw.gov.au/
Bathurst Regional Councilhttp://www.bathurst.nsw.gov.au/
Bega Valley Shire Councilhttp://www.begavalley.nsw.gov.au/
Bellingen Shire Councilhttp://www.bellingen.nsw.gov.au/
Berrigan Shire Council http://www.berriganshire.nsw.gov.au/
Blacktown City Councilhttp://www.blacktown.nsw.gov.au/
Bland Shire Councilhttp://www.blandshire.nsw.gov.au/
Blayney Shire Councilhttp://www.blayney.nsw.gov.au/
Blue Mountains City Councilhttp://www.bmcc.nsw.gov.au/
Bogan Shire Councilhttp://www.bogan.nsw.gov.au/
Bombala Councilhttp://www.bombala.nsw.gov.au/
Boorowa Councilhttp://www.boorowa.nsw.gov.au/
Botany Bay City Councilhttp://www.botanybay.nsw.gov.au/
Bourke Shire Councilhttp://www.bourke.nsw.gov.au/
Brewarrina Shire Councilhttp://www.brewarrina.local-e.nsw.gov.au/
Broken Hill City Councilhttp://www.brokenhill.nsw.gov.au/
Burwood Councilhttp://www.burwood.nsw.gov.au/
Byron Shire Councilhttp://www.byron.nsw.gov.au/
Cabonne Councilhttp://www.cabonne.nsw.gov.au/
Camden Councilhttp://www.camden.nsw.gov.au/
Campbelltown City Councilhttp://www.campbelltown.nsw.gov.au/
Carrathool Shire Councilhttp://www.carrathool.local-e.nsw.gov.au/
Central Darling Shire Councilhttp://www.centraldarling.nsw.gov.au/
Cessnock City Councilhttp://www.cessnock.nsw.gov.au/
City of Canada Bay Councilhttp://www.canadabay.nsw.gov.au/
City of Cantebury Councilhttp://www.canterbury.nsw.gov.au
City of Ryde Councilhttp://www.ryde.nsw.gov.au/
City of Sydney Councilhttp://www.cityofsydney.nsw.gov.au/
Clarence Valley Councilhttp://www.clarence.nsw.gov.au/
Cobar Shire Councilhttp://www.cobar.nsw.gov.au/
Coffs Harbour City Councilhttp://www.coffsharbour.nsw.gov.au/
Conargo Shire Councilhttp://www.conargo.nsw.gov.au/
Coolamon Shire Councilhttp://www.coolamon.nsw.gov.au/
Cooma-Monaro Shire Councilhttp://www.cooma.nsw.gov.au/
Coonamble Shire Councilhttp://www.coonambleshire.nsw.gov.au/
Cootamundra Shire Councilhttp://www.cootamundra.nsw.gov.au/
Corowa Shire Councilhttp://www.corowa.nsw.gov.au/
Cowra Councilhttp://www.cowracouncil.com.au/
Deniliquin Councilhttp://www.deniliquin.nsw.gov.au/
Dubbo City Councilhttp://www.dubbo.nsw.gov.au/
Dungog Shire Councilhttp://www.dungog.nsw.gov.au/
Eurobodalla Shire Councilhttp://www.esc.nsw.gov.au/
Fairfield City Council http://www.fairfieldcity.nsw.gov.au/
Forbes Shire Council http://www.forbes.nsw.gov.au/
Gilgandra Shire Councilhttp://www.gilgandra.nsw.gov.au/
Glen Innes Severn Councilhttp://www.gisc.nsw.gov.au/
Gloucester Shire Councilhttp://www.gloucester.nsw.gov.au/
Gosford City Councilhttp://www.gosford.nsw.gov.au/
Goulburn Mulwaree Councilhttp://www.goulburn.nsw.gov.au/
Great Lakes Councilhttp://www.greatlakes.nsw.gov.au/
Greater Hume Shire Councilhttp://www.greaterhume.nsw.gov.au/
Greater Taree City Councilhttp://www.gtcc.nsw.gov.au/
Griffith City Councilhttp://www.griffith.nsw.gov.au/
Gundagai Shire Council http://www.gundagai.nsw.gov.au/
Gunnedah Shire Council http://www.gunnedah.nsw.gov.au/
Guyra Shire Councilhttp://guyra.local-e.nsw.gov.au/
Gwydir Shire Councilhttp://www.gwydirshire.com/
Harden Shire Councilhttp://www.harden.nsw.gov.au/
Hawkesbury City Councilhttp://www.hawkesbury.nsw.gov.au/
Hay Shire Councilhttp://www.hay.nsw.gov.au/
Holroyd City Councilhttp://www.holroyd.nsw.gov.au/
Hornsby Shire Councilhttp://www.hornsby.nsw.gov.au/
Hunter's Hill Councilhttp://www.huntershill.nsw.gov.au/
Hurstville City Councilhttp://www.hurstville.nsw.gov.au/
Inverell Shire Councilhttp://www.inverell.nsw.gov.au/
Jerilderie Shire Councilhttp://www.jerilderie.nsw.gov.au/
Junee Shire Councilhttp://www.junee.nsw.gov.au/
Kempsey Shire Councilhttp://www.kempsey.nsw.gov.au/index.html
Kiama Municipal Councilhttp://www.kiama.nsw.gov.au/
Kogarah City Councilhttp://www.kogarah.nsw.gov.au/
Ku-ring-gai Councilhttp://www.kmc.nsw.gov.au/
Kyogle Councilhttp://www.kyogle.nsw.gov.au/
Lachlan Shire Councilhttp://www.lachlan.nsw.gov.au/
Lake Macquarie City Councilhttp://www.lakemac.com.au/
Lane Cove Councilhttp://www.lanecove.nsw.gov.au/
Leeton Shire Councilhttp://www.leeton.nsw.gov.au/
Leichhardt Municipal Councilhttp://www.leichhardt.nsw.gov.au/
Lismore City Councilhttp://www.lismore.nsw.gov.au/
Lithgow City Councilhttp://www.lithgow.nsw.gov.au/
Liverpool City Councilhttp://www.liverpool.nsw.gov.au/
Liverpool Plains Shire Councilhttp://www.lpsc.nsw.gov.au/
Lockhart Shire Councilhttp://www.lockhart.nsw.gov.au/
Maitland City Councilhttp://www.maitland.nsw.gov.au/
Manly Councilhttp://www.manly.nsw.gov.au/
Marrickville Councilhttp://www.marrickville.nsw.gov.au/
Mid-Western Regional Councilhttp://www.midwestern.nsw.gov.au/
Moree Plains Shire Councilhttp://www.mpsc.nsw.gov.au/
Mosman Municipal Councilhttp://www.mosman.nsw.gov.au/
Murray Shire Councilhttp://www.murray.nsw.gov.au/
Murrumbidgee Shire Councilhttp://www.murrumbidgee.local-e.nsw.gov.au/
Muswellbrook Shire Councilhttp://www.muswellbrook.nsw.gov.au/
Nambucca Shire Councilhttp://www.nambucca.nsw.gov.au/
Narrabri Shire Councilhttp://www.narrabri.nsw.gov.au/
Narrandera Shire Councilhttp://www.narrandera.nsw.gov.au/
Narromine Shire Councilhttp://www.narromine.nsw.gov.au/
Newcastle City Councilhttp://www.ncc.nsw.gov.au/
North Sydney Councilhttp://www.northsydney.nsw.gov.au/
Oberon Councilhttp://www.oberon.nsw.gov.au/
Orange City Councilhttp://www.orange.nsw.gov.au/
Palerang Councilhttp://www.palerang.nsw.gov.au/
Parkes Shire Councilhttp://www.parkes.nsw.gov.au/
Parramatta City Councilhttp://www.parracity.nsw.gov.au/
Penrith City Councilhttp://www.penrithcity.nsw.gov.au/
Pittwater Councilhttp://www.pittwater.nsw.gov.au/
Port Macquarie-Hastings Councilhttp://www.pmhc.nsw.gov.au/
Port Stephens Councilhttp://www.portstephens.local-e.nsw.gov.au/
Queanbeyan City Councilhttp://www.qcc.nsw.gov.au/
Randwick City Councilhttp://www.randwick.nsw.gov.au/
Richmond Valley Councilhttp://www.richmondvalley.nsw.gov.au/
Rockdale City Councilhttp://www.rockdale.nsw.gov.au/
Shellharbour City Councilhttp://www.shellharbour.nsw.gov.au/
Shoalhaven City Councilhttp://www.shoalhaven.nsw.gov.au/
Singleton Councilhttp://www.singleton.nsw.gov.au/
Snowy River Shire Councilhttp://www.snowyriver.nsw.gov.au/
Strathfield Councilhttp://www.strathfield.nsw.gov.au/
Sutherland Shire Councilhttp://www.sutherland.nsw.gov.au/
Tamworth Regional Councilhttp://www.tamworth.nsw.gov.au/
Temora Shire Councilhttp://www.temora.nsw.gov.au/
Tenterfield Shire Councilhttp://www.tenterfield.local-e.nsw.gov.au/
The Hills Shire Councilhttp://www.thehills.nsw.gov.au/
Tumbarumba Shire Councilhttp://www.tumbashire.nsw.gov.au/
Tumut Shire Councilhttp://www.tumut.nsw.gov.au/
Tweed Shire Councilhttp://www.tweed.nsw.gov.au/
Upper Lachlan Councilhttp://www.upperlachlan.local-e.nsw.gov.au/
Upper Hunter Shire Councilhttp://upperhunter.local-e.nsw.gov.au/
Uralla Shire Councilhttp://www.uralla.nsw.gov.au/
Urana Shire Councilhttp://www.urana.nsw.gov.au/
Wagga Wagga City Councilhttp://www.wagga.nsw.gov.au/
Wakool Shire Councilhttp://www.wakool.nsw.gov.au/
Walcha Councilhttp://www.walcha.nsw.gov.au/
Walgett Shire Councilhttp://www.walgett.nsw.gov.au/
Warren Shire Councilhttp://www.warren.nsw.gov.au/
Warringah Councilhttp://www.warringah.nsw.gov.au/
Warrumbungle Shire Councilhttp://www.warrumbungle.nsw.gov.au/
Waverley Councilhttp://www.waverley.nsw.gov.au/
Weddin Shire Councilhttp://www.weddin.nsw.gov.au/
Wellington Councilhttp://www.wellington.nsw.gov.au/
Wentworth Shire Councilhttp://www.wentworth.nsw.gov.au/
Willoughby City Councilhttp://www.willoughby.nsw.gov.au/
Wingecarribee Shire Councilhttp://www.wsc.nsw.gov.au/
Wollondilly Shire Councilhttp://www.wollondilly.local-e.nsw.gov.au/
Wollongong City Councilhttp://www.wollongong.nsw.gov.au/
Woollahra Municipal Councilhttp://www.woollahra.nsw.gov.au/
Wyong Shire Councilhttp://www.wyong.nsw.gov.au/
Yass Valley Councilhttp://www.yass.nsw.gov.au/
Young Shire Councilhttp://www.young.nsw.gov.au/