Garden Shed Approvals NSW

On the 27 February 2009 State Environmental Planning Policy (Exempt and Complying Development Codes) 2008 (the Codes SEPP), which has state-wide application commenced. This new Codes SEPP contains exempt development types and complying development types for certain types of development.

Garden sheds that comply with certain guidelines are considered exempt developments. These guidelines are as follows.

To be exempt development the development must not be carried out on land that is an environmentally sensitive area.
You don’t need permission from council to build or install cabanas, cubby houses, ferneries, garden sheds, gazebos and greenhouses if:

  • There are no more than 2 per lot.
  • If it is on land in rural zones RU1, RU2, RU3, RU4 and R5 – be no larger than 50sqm.
  • If it is on land in all other zones - no larger than 20sqm.
  • It is no higher than 3m above the ground level.
  • If it is on land in rural zones RU1, RU2, RU3 and RU4  - be located behind the building line of any road frontage.
  • It is set back a minimum of 900mm from each boundary.
  • It is located in the back yard if your property is in a heritage conservation area or a draft heritage conservation area.
  • If it is located adjacent to another building—be located so that it does not interfere with the entry to, or exit from, or the fire safety measures within, that building.
  • It cannot be a shipping container.
  • The disposal of any roof water must not cause a nuisance to adjoining owners.
  • In residential zones, any metal parts of the structure are to be low reflective, factory pre coloured materials.
  • If your property is bushfire prone land and the structure is going to be located less than 5m from your house or a neighbours house the structure must be constructed of non combustible materials.

For updated info on the garden shed approval guidelines from the NSW Planning Department click here.

Save with a $50 discount code

With over 3,000 different shed variations we think we will have a garden shed to suit your requirements. Click here to qualify for a $50 discount that you can apply to any one of our sheds. This voucher code can be used any time in the next 6 months on any one of our sheds no exceptions.

Save $50 on any shed

Sheds4Less sheds are designed to comply with the Exempt and Complying Development Code adopted by most councils.
Find out why and how we have made buying and building a garden shed easy.

More shed info

Want to Contact Your Council?

Albury City Council
Armidale Dumaresq Council
Auburn City Council
Ballina Shire Council
Balranald Shire Council
Bankstown City Council
Bathurst Regional Council
Bega Valley Shire Council
Bellingen Shire Council
Berrigan Shire Council
Blacktown City Council
Bland Shire Council
Blayney Shire Council
Blue Mountains City Council
Bogan Shire Council
Boorowa Council
Bourke Shire Council
Broken Hill City Council
Burwood Council
Byron Shire Council
Cabonne Council
Camden Council
Campbelltown City Council
Central Darling Shire Council
Cessnock City Council
City of Canada Bay Council
City of Ryde Council
City of Sydney Council
Clarence Valley Council
Cobar Shire Council
Coolamon Shire Council
Coonamble Shire Council
Cootamundra Shire Council
Corowa Shire Council
Cowra Council
Dubbo City Council
Dungog Shire Council
Eurobodalla Shire Council
Fairfield City Council
Forbes Shire Council
Gilgandra Shire Council
Glen Innes Severn Council
Gloucester Shire Council
Gosford City Council
Goulburn Mulwaree Council
Great Lakes Council
Greater Hume Shire Council
Greater Taree City Council
Griffith City Council
Gundagai Shire Council
Gunnedah Shire Council
Gwydir Shire Council
Harden Shire Council
Hawkesbury City Council
Hay Shire Council
Holroyd City Council
Hornsby Shire Council
Hunter's Hill Council
Hurstville City Council
Inverell Shire Council
Jerilderie Shire Council
Junee Shire Council
Kempsey Shire Council
Kiama Municipal Council
Kogarah City Council
Ku-ring-gai Council
Kyogle Council
Lachlan Shire Council
Lake Macquarie City Council
Lane Cove Council
Leeton Shire Council
Leichhardt Municipal Council
Lismore City Council
Lithgow City Council
Liverpool City Council
Liverpool Plains Shire Council
Lockhart Shire Council
Maitland City Council
Manly Council
Marrickville Council
Mid-Western Regional Council
Moree Plains Shire Council
Mosman Municipal Council
Murray Shire Council
Muswellbrook Shire Council
Nambucca Shire Council
Narrabri Shire Council
Narrandera Shire Council
Narromine Shire Council
Newcastle City Council
North Sydney Council
Oberon Council
Orange City Council
Palerang Council
Parkes Shire Council
Parramatta City Council
Penrith City Council
Pittwater Council
Port Macquarie-Hastings Council
Queanbeyan City Council
Randwick City Council
Richmond Valley Council
Shellharbour City Council
Shoalhaven City Council
Singleton Council
Strathfield Council
Sutherland Shire Council
Tamworth Regional Council
Temora Shire Council
The Hills Shire Council
Tumbarumba Shire Council
Tumut Shire Council
Tweed Shire Council
Uralla Shire Council
Urana Shire Council
Wagga Wagga City Council
Wakool Shire Council
Walcha Council
Walgett Shire Council
Warren Shire Council
Warringah Council
Warrumbungle Shire Council
Waverley Council
Weddin Shire Council
Wellington Council
Wentworth Shire Council
Willoughby City Council
Wingecarribee Shire Council
Wollongong City Council
Woollahra Municipal Council
Wyong Shire Council
Yass Valley Council
Young Shire Council